EM News

Low-interest federal disaster loans are now available to certain private nonprofit organizations in Iowa following President Obama's federal disaster declaration for Public Assistance as a result of severe storms and flooding that occurred Sept. 21 - Oct. 3, 2016, announced Administrator Maria Contreras-Sweet of the U.S. Small Business Administration. Private nonprofits that provide essential services of a governmental nature are eligible for assistance.

SBA disaster assistance is now available in Allamakee, Benton, Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Clayton, Delaware, Des Moines, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Howard, Linn, Mitchell, Winneshiek, and Wright counties.

Gov. Terry E. Branstad has received word that the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) approved his request for disaster assistance for nine counties impacted by severe storms in September.

The counties included in the declaration are: Black Hawk, Bremer, Butler, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Floyd, Franklin, Grundy, and Hardin. The governor sent the request to the SBA for a Physical Disaster Declaration on Oct. 6, 2016, in response to significant damage that was caused by severe storms and flooding from Sept. 21-Oct. 3, 2016.

Gov. Terry E. Branstad today requested the United States Small Business Administration (SBA) to make low-interest federal disaster loans available to Iowa residents and business owners affected by recent severe weather and flash flooding in northeast Iowa.

The governor requested that the SBA grant a Physical Disaster Declaration for Winneshiek County. A Physical Disaster Declaration would make available to eligible Winneshiek County residents the Disaster Loan Program, which would provide low-interest loans for those impacted by the Aug. 23-24, 2016, flooding and severe weather.

Serving Iowa since 1962


“Preparation through education is less costly than learning through tragedy.”

― Max Mayfield
Former Director
National Hurricane Center