EM News

Iowa Gov. Terry Branstad today announced that he is extending the proclamation of disaster emergency for counties impacted by flooding in September.

Today’s extension will make the Iowa Individuals Assistance Program available until Dec. 7, 2016, for eligible residents in the following counties:

Allamakee, Benton, Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Cedar, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Clayton, Delaware, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Hancock, Howard, Jones, Linn, Louisa, Mitchell, Muscatine, Story, Winneshiek, Worth, and Wright.

Today, Gov. Terry Branstad and Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds are providing an update on the Iowa flood response and issuing a disaster emergency proclamation for four additional counties including Howard, Jones, Louisa and Story.  Additionally, Gov. Branstad, Lt. Gov. Reynolds, Adjutant General of the Iowa National Guard Tim Orr, and Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management Director Mark Schouten will tour flood damage in Vinton, Palo and Cedar Rapids tomorrow.  The schedule is provided below.

This update includes an overview of actions being taken by the State of Iowa to assist communities in Iowa impacted by flooding.

Serving Iowa since 1962


“Preparation through education is less costly than learning through tragedy.”

― Max Mayfield
Former Director
National Hurricane Center