EM News

Iowa Gov. Terry Branstad today announced that he is extending the proclamation of disaster emergency for counties impacted by flooding in September.

Today’s extension will make the Iowa Individuals Assistance Program available until Dec. 7, 2016, for eligible residents in the following counties:

Allamakee, Benton, Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Cedar, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Clayton, Delaware, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Hancock, Howard, Jones, Linn, Louisa, Mitchell, Muscatine, Story, Winneshiek, Worth, and Wright.

This morning, Gov. Terry Branstad and Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds provided an update on the Iowa flood response.

Over the weekend, Gov. Branstad, Lt. Gov. Reynolds, Adjutant General of the Iowa National Guard Tim Orr, and Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management Director Mark Schouten toured flood damage in Clarkesville and Shell Rock and assessed flood preparedness plans underway in Cedar Rapids. To view pictures of those visits, please visit Gov. Branstad’s Facebook page at: www.facebook.com/TerryBranstad.  Gov. Branstad and Lt. Gov. Reynolds will be assessing flood damage today in the cities of Charles City and Greene. The full schedule is provided below.

This update includes an overview of actions being taken by the State of Iowa to assist communities in northern Iowa impacted by flooding.

Serving Iowa since 1962


“Preparation through education is less costly than learning through tragedy.”

― Max Mayfield
Former Director
National Hurricane Center