EM News

Friday, 11 August 2017 06:00 Written by

Gov. Reynolds sends letter to Pres. Trump requesting disaster declaration for 7 Iowa counties

Rate this item
(0 votes)

Gov. Kim Reynolds sent a letter to President Donald Trump Thursday requesting a presidential disaster declaration for seven Iowa counties significantly damaged by severe storms and flooding July 19-23, 2017.

Counties included in this request are: Allamakee, Bremer, Buchanan, Chickasaw, Clayton, Fayette and Mitchell.

The governor requested funding under the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s (FEMA) Public Assistance Program. The money would be used to rebuild damaged infrastructure including roads, bridges, culverts and other public facilities or to cover costs of emergency work during and debris removal after the storms.

Following a joint federal, state and local preliminary damage assessment of the seven counties, it was estimated the severe weather caused nearly $7 million in damages that could be eligivle under the Public Assistance Program.

Gov. Reynolds also requested funding to conduct hazard mitigation activities for the entire state.

Click here to read the letter.

Read 425 times Last modified on Friday, 11 August 2017 14:38

Serving Iowa since 1962


“Preparation through education is less costly than learning through tragedy.”

― Max Mayfield
Former Director
National Hurricane Center