EM News

Thursday, 20 July 2017 23:47 Written by

Gov. Reynolds issues disaster proclamation for four counties (July 21)

Rate this item
(0 votes)

Gov. Kim Reynolds issued a disaster proclamation Thursday for Allamakee, Clayton, Fayette and Winneshiek counties in response to severe weather on July 19.

The governor’s proclamation allows state resources to be utilized to respond to and recover from the effects of the severe weather. The proclamation also activates the Iowa Individual Assistance program for qualifying residents of the four counties.

The Iowa Individual Assistance Program provides grants of up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level or a maximum annual income of $40,320 for a family of three.

Grants are available for car or home repairs, clothing or food replacement and temporary housing expenses. Original receipts are required for those seeking reimbursement for actual expenses related to storm recovery.

The grant application and instructions are available on the Iowa Department of Human Services website. Potential applicants have 45 days from the date of the proclamation to submit a claim.

Read 415 times Last modified on Tuesday, 25 July 2017 17:30

Serving Iowa since 1962


“Preparation through education is less costly than learning through tragedy.”

― Max Mayfield
Former Director
National Hurricane Center