EM News

Tuesday, 20 September 2016 00:07 Written by

Gov. Branstad requests Presidential Disaster Declaration

Rate this item
(0 votes)

Gov. Terry E. Branstad today signed a letter to be delivered to President Obama requesting a Presidential Disaster Declaration for eight Iowa counties where significant damage was sustained from severe storms and flooding from Aug. 23-27, 2016.

The counties included in this request are: Allamakee, Chickasaw, Clayton, Fayette, Floyd, Howard, Mitchell, and Winneshiek.

The governor requested funding under the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s Public Assistance Program, which is used to rebuild damaged infrastructure that may include roads, bridges, culverts and other public facilities, or to cover costs of emergency work during, and debris removal after, the storms. A joint federal, state, and local preliminary damage assessment of the eight counties found the severe weather caused an estimated $4.8 million worth of damage that could be eligible under the Public Assistance Program.

The governor also requested funding to conduct hazard mitigation activities for the entire state.  The letter can be read in its entirety here.

Read 423 times Last modified on Wednesday, 02 November 2016 18:42

Serving Iowa since 1962


“Preparation through education is less costly than learning through tragedy.”

― Max Mayfield
Former Director
National Hurricane Center